Lets talk about Lime Crime.

Lime Crime is a very sensitive topic of conversation right now; with everyone having an opinion on the way the company is run, the customer service it upholds and the products themselves.

Having only just learned about the brand a few months ago, I was completely unaware of the controversy behind the brand. After researching Lime Crime, I found out that they had a security breach which left some of their customers with stolen money and their personal details released without consent. Fortunately for myself, I was not affected by this, but was advised to replace my current password, just as a precaution.

Popular questions I receive from friends and twitter about Lime Crime and my experience.

1. How long does Lime Crime take to ship orders to the UK?

On the official Lime Crime website, they state that UK orders will take between 7-14 days to be shipped and delivered, but could take longer due to customs. My order took 5 weeks, from placing the order to it being delivered. Obviously once Lime Crime have the order shipped, they are no longer in control of the parcel, however I do believe that Lime Crime should update their website in stating that it will definitely take more than 7-14 days for orders to the UK.

2. Are the Velvetines drying?

Yes, but most matte lipsticks can be. The formula does not create an irritable dryness feeling, but I would suggest after wearing this product, you should hydrate your lips, otherwise they will be chapped and sore.

3. Do they last all day?

No, I have found that the colour does rub off if you eat or drink, so you will need to re-apply once, maybe twice.

4. How much is shipping?

My shipping cost £10.95 which I consider to be a reasonable price, as I have used other international brands such as Black Milk Clothing, who also have a similar price of shipping.

 Cashmere and Riot

My first order with Lime Crime consisted of two Velvetines lipsticks; Cashmere and Riot. I really love the packaging, its very sleek and unique. Due to the clear packaging it is also easy to identify what colour you are searching for.

IMG_5383 (2)

Below is a photo of Cashmere. Cashmere is a very nude colour, which supposedly changes depending on your natural lip colour, so this colour could be different to what it looks like on someone else. I really do love this colour, its great for a night out when you want to go for the vampy look or the Kylie Jenner look; without the use of a shot glass *laughs*. The only down side of this lip product is the fact that it can be difficult to apply, as you have to be totally careful when going around the edges because one little shake and you could be left with a wonky lip that you cannot remove without extreme force with a makeup wipe!

IMG_1771

Overall I would say that I do like the products, but I do not think I would purchase anything else from Lime Crime, primarily because the shipping took far too long and I was forever guessing where my package was or if it had been stolen, or not allowed through customs, because after it arrives in the UK, there is no tracking info available, so you are left in the dark.

 

Leave a comment